Positive Schools



Positive Teacher of the Year Award


The Positive Teacher of the Year Awards are proudly supported by The University of Western Australia in conjunction with The Positive Schools Mental Health And Wellbeing Conferences, KidsMatter and MindMatter.


The awards acknowledge the outstanding contribution that so many Australian teachers make to the mental health and wellbeing of their students and colleagues. Thousands of Australian teachers work long hours giving time and energy to the social and psychological needs of their students. Much of this effort goes unrecognized and unrewarded in any formal way.


An enormous thankyou to all of you, your school students and parents who nominated such amazing teachers for the 2012 awards.


The winners for 2012 have now been finalised


Congratulations to:


Peter Trimble

Deputy Principal

Brentwood Primary School, Brentwood, WA


Sherrin Justo

HoD Social Justice

Nambour State High School, Nambour, Queensland


Karen Brunskill

Assistant Principal

Glendal Primary School, Glen Waverley, Victoria


The 2012 winners will be presented with their awards by Sandra Sully on Day One of each of this year’s Positive Schools events.


Positive Teacher Awards 2013

Nominations are now open


Click on the link below to make a nomination for 2013.  You can nominate any teacher who you believe has made an outstanding contribution to wellbeing in their school or college during 2012.


A nomination will take five minutes of your time and could give someone really great the acknowledgement and recognition they deserve.


If we are to pride ourselves on being a country who prioritizes the wellbeing of our youth, we need to acknowledge the work of the teachers who support them.